SARA Steering Committees

SARA Steering Committee Members by Region

MHEC

Gretchen Bartelson 

Dean, Center for Teaching and Learning  

Northwest Iowa Community College

603 West Park Street

Sheldon, IA 51201

712.324.5061 ext. 170

gbartelson@nwicc.edu

 

Kathleen  Fimple

Academic Programs Officer

Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

P.O. Box 95005

Lincoln, NE 68509-5005

402.471.0030

kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov

 

Misty Phillips

Director and Accreditation Liaison Officer

Columbia College

1001 Rogers Street

Columbia, MO 65216

573.875.7697 ext. 7697

mabush3@ccis.edu

 

Richard M. Rothaus

Vice Chancellor of Academic and Student Affairs

North Dakota University System

600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 215

Bismarck, ND 58505-0230

701.328.4136

richard.rothaus@ndus.edu

 

Ken Sauer 

Senior Associate Commissioner and Chief Academic Officer

Indiana Commission for Higher Education

101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550

Indianapolis IN 46204-1984

317.232.1090

ksauer@che.in.gov

 

Betsy Talbot

Manager

Institutional Licensing and Registration

Minnesota Office of Higher Education

1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350

Saint Paul, MN 55108

651.259.3965

Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

 

Stephanie Davidson 

Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Ohio Department of Higher Education

25 South Front Street

Columbus, OH 43215

614.728.1904

sdavidson@highered.ohio.gov

 

Dan Cullen 

Deputy Director for Academic Affairs

Illinois Board of Higher Education

1 North Old State Capital Plaza, Suite 333

Springfield IL 62701-1377

217.557.7352

Cullen@ibhe.org

 

Mary Niemiec 

Associate Vice President for Distance Education and Director

University of Nebraska Online Worldwide

3835 Holdrege Street

Lincoln, NE 68583

402.472.7979

mniemiec@nebraska.edu

 

Morna Foy 

President

Wisconsin Technical College System

4622 University Avenue

Madison, WI 53705

608.267.9066

morna.foy@wtcsystem.edu

 

Shellie Haut 

Executive Director, Licensure, Regulatory Services and Human Capital

Central Michigan University

802 Industrial Drive

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858

989.774.1308

hautr1sl@cmish.edu

 

Sue Huppert

Chief of External and Governmental Affairs

Des Moines University

3200 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50312

515.271.1384

susan.huppert@dmu.edu

 

Mike Michaelis 

Assistant Director, Virtual College

Fort Hays State University

600 Park Street

Wichita, KS 67601-4099

785.628.5545

mwmichaelis@fhsu.edu

 

Lane Huber 

Chief Distance Learning and Military Affairs Officer

Bismarck State College

P.O. Box  5587

Bismarck, ND 58506

701.224.5714

lane.huber@bismarckstate.edu

 

Bibi  Schultz

Director of Education

Missouri State Board of Nursing

301 West High Street

Jefferson City, MO 65101

573.751.0079

bibi.schultz@pr.mo.gov

 

Don Madelung 

Commissioner

Midwestern Higher Education Compact

4414 Snowy Ridge Trail

Windsor, WI 53598

608.237.8301

dgmadelung@gmail.com

 

NEBHE

Carol Anderson

Vice President

New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

3 Burlington Woods Drive

Burlington, MA 01803

781.425.7713

canderson@neasc.org

 

Yvette Clark

Senior Vice President and General Counsel

Southern New Hampshire University

2500 North River Road

Manchester, NH 03106

603.645.9623

y.clark@snhu.edu

 

William Clements

Vice President and Dean

College of Graduate and Continuing Studies

Norwich University

158 Harmon Drive

Northfield, VT 05663

802.485.2368

bclements@norwich.edu

 

Glen Cummings

President

University Of Southern Maine

35 Bedford Street

Portland, ME 04101

207.780.4480

glennc@maine.edu

 

Owen Donovan

Supervisor, Higher Education Programs

New York State Department of Higher Education

518.474.1551

owen.donovan@nysed.gov

 

Jane McBride Gates

Provost and SVP for Academic and Student Affairs

Connecticut State Colleges and Universities 

 860.723.0058 

gatesj@ct.edu 

 

Ed Klonoski (Chair)

President

Charter Oak State College

55 Paul Manafort Drive

New Britain, CT 06053

860.515.3888

eklonoski@charteroak.edu

 

Angel Loredo (Vice-Chair)

Higher Education Specialist

Maine Department of Education

23 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

207.624.6846

Angel.Loredo@maine.gov

 

Karyl Martin

Assistant General Counsel

University System of New Hampshire

5 Chenell Drive

Concord, NH 03301

603.862.0961

karyl.martin@usnh.edu

 

Patricia Plummer

Senior Advisor - Academic Affairs

Student Affairs and International Relations

University Of Massachusetts

One Beacon Street, 31st Floor

Boston, MA 02108

781.248.3494

pplummer@umassp.edu

 

Eric Sakai

Dean of Academic Technology

Community College of Vermont

660 Elm Street

Montpelier, VT 05601

802.828.0133

Eric.Sakai@ccv.edu

 

Jamie Scurry

Dean of Continuing Studies

Roger Williams University

1 Old Ferry Road

Bristol, RI 02809

401.254.4844

jscurry@rwu.edu

 

Eric Taylor

Director, Office of Licensure

New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

609.984.3738

eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

 

Ex-Officio

Michael Thomas, President/CEO, New England Board of Higher Education

 

SREB

Daniel Archer

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

655 Research Parkway, Suite 200

P.O. Box 108850

Oklahoma City, OK 73101

405.225.9142

darcher@osrhe.edu

 

Clay Barton

Licensing Program Coordinator, Postsecondary Institution Licensing, Academic Affairs

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300

Columbia, SC 29201

803.737.7781

cbarton@che.sc.gov

 

Alana Boles (Chair 10/2016 - 10/2018)

Program Director of Private Career and Out-of-State Education

Arkansas Department of Higher Education

423 Main Street, Suite 400

Little Rock, AR 72201

501.371.2060

alana.boles@adhe.edu

 

Morgan Champion

Director

Postsecondary Reciprocal Distance Education

Commission for Independent Education

325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1414

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400

850.245.3212

morgan.champion@fldoe.org

 

Darlene Derricott

Director of Academic Services

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor

Richmond, VA 23219

804.225.2621

darlenederricott@schev.edu

 

LeAnn Detillier

Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration

Louisiana Board of Regents

1201 North Third Street, Suite 6-200

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

225.342.4253

leann.detillier@la.gov

 

 

SREB Cont.

Menia Dykes

Director of Accreditation

Office of Academic and Student Affairs

Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

3825 Ridgewood Road

Jackson, MS 39211

 601.432.6372

 mdykes@mississippi.edu
 

Cristi D. Ford (10/2016-10/2018)

Associate Vice President, Center for Innovation in Learning and Student Success

University of Maryland University College

3501 University Boulevard East

Adelphi, MD 20783

240.684.2434

cristi.ford@umuc.edu

 

Robert Igo (10/2016-10/2018)

Director of Compliance and Reporting

Penn State Outreach and Online Education

The 329 Building, Suite 218

University Park, PA 16802

814.865.2992

rli2@psu.edu

 

Robert Keown (10/2017-10/2020)

Executive Director

Georgia Virtual Technical Connection

Technical College System of Georgia

1800 Century Place Northeast, Suite 400

Atlanta, GA 30345

404.679.1667

rkeown@tcsg.edu


Michael J. Kiphart
Director of Academic Affairs
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410.332.0270
michael.kiphart@maryland.gov
 

Patricia Landis

Division Chief

Pennsylvania Department of Education

Division of Higher and Career Education

333 Market Street 

Harrisburg, PA 17126

717.783.8228

plandis@pa.gov

 

Angela Lee

Executive Director

Higher Education Licensure Commission

Postsecondary Education

Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Government of the District of Columbia

810 First Street Northeast, 2nd Floor

Washington, D.C. 20002

202.724.2095

angela.lee@dc.gov

 

Sarah Levy

Director of Postsecondary Licensing

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320

Frankfort, KY 40601

502.892.3034

sarah.levy@ky.gov

 

Camille McKayle

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

University of the Virgin Islands

No. 2 John Brewers Bay

St. Thomas, VI 00801

304.693.1200

cmckal@uvi.edu
 

Shana Payne

Director, Higher Education Office

Delaware Department of Higher Education

The Townsend Building

401 Federal Street, Suite 2

Dover, DE 19901

302.735.4120

shana.payne@doe.k12.de.us

 

Rex C Peebles

Assistant Commissioner

Academic Quality and Workforce

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

P. O. Box 12788

Austin, TX 78711

512.427.6520

rex.peebles@thecb.state.tx.us

 

Robert Reed (10/2016-10/2018)

Associate Director, UCF Online

Center for Distributed Learning

University of Central Florida

4000 Central Florida Boulevard

Orlando, FL 32816

407.823.4915

robert.reed@ucf.edu

 

Corinna M. Robinson

Executive Director

Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary

Education Commission

2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220

Tucker, GA 30084

770.414.3300

crobinson@gnpec.org

 

Terrence R. Scarborough

Director of SARA-NC

UNC-General Administration

North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

P.O. Box 14103

Research Triangle Park, NC 27709  

919.248.4660  

terrence@saranc.org

 

Mark Stotler

Director of Academic Programming

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education

1018 Kanawha Boulevard East, Suite 700

Charleston, WV 25301

304.558.0262

mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu

 

Tim Vick

Director of Operations and Fiscal Services

Alabama Commission on Higher Education

P.O. Box 302000

Montgomery, AL 36130

334.353.9153

tim.vick@ache.alabama.gov

 

Julie Woodruff (Vice Chair 6/2016-10/2018)

Assistant Executive Director of Postsecondary School Authorization and Lead Attorney

Tennessee Higher Education Commission

404 James Robertson Parkway

Parkway Towers, Suite 1900

Nashville, TN 37243

615.253.8857

julie.woodruff@tn.gov

 

Jeannie Yockey-Fine (10/2014-10/2020)

Senior Advisor, State Regulatory Services

Cooley, LLP

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest, Suite 700

Washington, DC 20004

202.776.2972

jyockeyfine@cooley.com

 

WICHE

Crystal Abba

Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

Nevada System of Higher Education

2601 Enterprise Road

Reno, NV 89512

775.784.4901

crystal_abba@nshe.nevada.edu

 

Don Bennett

Deputy Director

Washington Student Achievement Council

917 Lakeridge Way Southwest

Olympia, WA 98502

360.753.7831

DonB@wsac.wa.gov

 

Tracie Bent

Chief Planning and Policy Officer

Idaho State Board of Education

650 West State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0037

208.332.1582

Tracie.Bent@osbe.idaho.gov

 

Katie Boehnke

Academic Affairs Specialist

South Dakota SARA Coordinator

South Dakota Board of Regents

306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200

Pierre, SD 57501

605.773.3455

Katie.Boehnke@sdbor.edu

 

Violet A. Boyer

President and CEO

Independent Colleges of Washington

600 Stewart Street, Suite 600

Seattle, WA 98101

violet@icwashington.org

 

Larry Buchholtz

Fiscal Operations Team Manager

State of Wyoming

WY Community College Commission

2300 Capitol Avenue, 5th Floor, Suite B

Cheyenne, WY 82002

307.777.7068

larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov

 

Heather DeLange

Academic Policy Officer

Colorado Department of Higher Education

1560 Broadway, Suite 1600

Denver, CO 80202

303.862.3005

heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

 

Lanna Dueck

Executive Director, AZ SARA Council

2323 West 14th Street

Tempe, AZ 85281

480.517.8226

lanna.dueck@riosalado.edu


Veronica Dujon

Director of Academic Planning and Policy

Higher Education Coordinating Commission

255 Court Street NE

Salem, OR 97301

503.947.5744

veronica.dujon@state.or.us
 

Kierke Kussart

Program Coordinator, Institutional Authorization

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

P.O. Box 110505

Juneau, AK 99811-0505

907.465.6741

kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

 

Senator Carol Liu

California State Senate

State Capitol, Room 5061

Sacramento, CA 95814

916.651.4021

lysa.markey@sen.ca.gov

 

Bobbi Lum-Mew

Program Administrator

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

P.O. Box 541

Honolulu, HI 96809

808.586.7327

hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

 

Jeneva LiRosi

General Counsel

New Mexico Higher Education Department

2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4

Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100

505.476.8402

Jeneva.LiRosi@state.nm.us

 

Laura Palmer Noone

Board Member

Lumina Foundation

1101 East Warner Road, Suite 118

Tempe, AZ 85284

602.524.8171

Lpnoone@q.com

 

Mary Ellen Petrisko

President

WASC Senior College and University Commission

985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100

Alameda, CA 94501

510.748.9001 ext. 321

mepetrisko@wascsenior.org

 

Elizabeth Ternes

Academic Policy Specialist

Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

Montana University System

P.O. Box 203201

Helena, MT 59620-3201

406.444.0311

eternes@montana.edu