State Portal Entity Contacts

Alabama

Timothy Vick
Director of Operations and Fiscal Services
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
P.O. Box 302000
Montgomery, AL 36130
334.353.9153
tim.vick@ache.alabama.gov

State Website http://www.ache.alabama.gov/Content/SARA/AlaPortal.aspx

 

Alaska

Kierke Kussart
Program Coordinator Institutional Authorization
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505
907.465.6741
kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

Arizona

Lanna Dueck

Executive Director

Arizona SARA Council
2323 W. 14th St.
Tempe, AZ 85281
480.517.8226 

ldueck.azsara@riosalado.edu

Arkansas

Alana Boles
Program Director for Private Career and Out-of-State Education
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
423 Main St., Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
501.371.2060
alana.boles@adhe.edu

State Website http://www.adhe.edu/institutions/academic-affairs/sara/

Colorado

Heather Delange
Academic Policy Officer
Department of Higher Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, CO 80202
303.862.3005
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

 

Connecticut

Christon R. Kurker-Stewart, Esq.

Academic Affairs

Office of Higher Education

State of Connecticut

450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 510

Hartford, CT 06103-1841

860.947.1820

860.947.1310 fax
ckurker-stewart@ctohe.org

State Website www.ctohe.org

 

Delaware

Nick A. Buono

Education Specialist

Delaware Office of Higher Ed

Delaware Department of Education

The Townsend Building

401 Federal Street, Suite 2

Dover, DE 19901

302.735.4193 

nicholas.buono@doe.k12.de.us

State Website http://www.doe.k12.de.us/sara

 

District of Columbia

Angela H. Lee
Executive Director
Higher Education Licensure Commission
Postsecondary Education

Office of the State Superintendent of Education

810 1st Street, NE, Floor 2

Washington, DC 20002

202.724.2095
Angela.Lee@dc.gov

State Website http://osse.dc.gov/service/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

 

Florida

Morgan Champion

Director, Postsecondary Reciprocal Distance Education
Commission for Independent Education
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
850.245.3212
morgan.champion@fldoe.org

State Website http://www.flsara.org/

Georgia

Patricia “Pat” Neri
GA-SARA Coordinator
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3235
GASARA@gnpec.org

State Website http://gnpec.org/ga-sara/

Hawaii

Bobbi Lum-Mew

Program Administrator

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 541

Honolulu, HI 96809

808.586.7327

hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Valerie Fenske
Idaho Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Nkechi Onwuameze, PhD
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Illinois SARA Coordinator
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377
217.557.7382
sara@ibhe.org

Indiana

Ken Sauer
Senior Associate Commissioner and Chief Academic Officer
Indiana Commission for Higher Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 550
Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984
317.232.1090
academics@che.in.gov

Iowa

Lisa Pundt
Compliance Officer        
Iowa College Aid
430 E. Grand Avenue, Floor 3
Des Moines, IA 50309
515.725.3426 | fax: 515.725.3401
lisa.pundt@iowa.gov

Kansas

Samantha Christy-Dangermond
Associate Director
Academic Affairs
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
(785)430-4262
schristy@ksbor.org 

Kentucky

Sarah Levy
Director of Postsecondary Licensing
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
502.573.1555 ext. 350
sarah.levy@ky.gov

State Website http://cpe.ky.gov/campuses/sararequest.html

Louisiana

LeAnn Detillier
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third Street, Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225.342-4253

leann.detillier@la.gov

State Website http://www.regents.la.gov/subhome/institutional-licensure

Maine

Angel Loredo

Higher Education Specialist

Department of Higher Education

23 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333-0023

207.624.6846

angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Koliwe Moyo
Online Education Analyst
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, Floor 10
Baltimore, MD 21201

410.767.3297
koliwe.moyo1@maryland.gov

State Website http://mhec.maryland.gov/institutions_training/Pages/acadaff/sara.aspx

Michigan

James R. Farhat, Specialist

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau

Licensing Division

PO Box 30018

Lansing, MI 48909

517.241.9221

517.373.2162 fax

farhatj@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Betsy Talbot
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3965
Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

State Website http://www.mississippi.edu/mcca/sara.asp

Missouri

Leroy Wade
Assistant Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov

Montana

Janelle Booth

Research and Academic Policy Director

Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

Montana University System

P.O. Box 203201

Helena, MT 59620-3201

406.994.6480

janelle.booth@montana.edu

 

Nebraska

Kathleen L. Fimple, Ph.D.
Academic Programs Officer
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
402.471.0030
Kathleen.Fimple@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Crystal Abba
Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.4901
crystal_abba@nshe.nevada.edu

New Hampshire

There is currently not a Director (for inquires please contact Patricia Edes)
Director of the Division of Higher Education
Higher Education Commission
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3494
603.271.0256
Patricia.edes@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

Eric Taylor, Esq.

Director, Office of Licensure

New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

20 W. State St., Floor 4

P.O. Box 542

Trenton, NJ 08625

609.984.3738

eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

New Mexico

Jeneva LiRosi

General Counsel

New Mexico Higher Education Department

2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4

Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100

505.476.8402

Jeneva.LiRosi@state.nm.us

New York

Owen Donovan, PhD

Supervisor, Higher Education Programs

New York State Education Department

89 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12234

518.474.1551

IHEauthorize@nysed.gov

North Carolina

Terrence R. Scarborough, M.P.A.

Director of SARA North Carolina

North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

P.O. Box 14103

Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

919.248.4660

terrence@saranc.org

State Website www.saranc.org

 

North Dakota

Dr. Richard Rothaus
North Dakota University System
Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 215
Bismark, ND 58505-0230
701.328.4136
richard.rothaus@ndus.edu
 

Ohio

Matt Exline
Assistant Director of Program Approval Operations
Ohio Department of Higher Education
25 South Front Street
Columbus, OH  43215
614.728.3095

mexline@highered.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Daniel Archer
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9142
darcher@osrhe.edu

State Website http://www.okhighered.org/admin-fac/sara/

Oregon

Juan Báez-Arévalo
Director of Private Postsecondary Education
Higher Education Coordinating Commission
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310
503.947.5977
juan.baez-arevalo@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Patricia Landis
Division Chief
Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.783.8228
plandis@pa.gov

State Website http://www.education.pa.gov/Postsecondary-Adult/College%20and%20Career%20Education/Pages/State-Authorization-Reciprocity-Agreement-%28SARA%29.aspx#tab-1

Rhode Island

Kimberly Bright

Chief of Staff

RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner

560 Jefferson Boulvard

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886-1304

401.736.1100

Kimberly.Bright@riopc.edu

 South Carolina

Clay Barton

Licensing Program Coordinator
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300

Columbia, SC 29201

803.737.7781

Cbarton@che.sc.gov

State Website http://www.che.sc.gov/InstitutionsEducators/AcademicPolicies%2CPrograms/SouthCarolina-StateAuthorizationReciprocityAgreement%28SC-SARA%29.aspx

South Dakota

Katie Hubbart
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605.773.3455
Katie.Hubbart@sdbor.edu

Tennessee

Julie Woodruff

Assistant Executive Director and Lead Attorney for DPSA

Tennessee Higher Education Commission
404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 1900
Nashville, TN 37243
615.253.8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

Jessica Acton
Program Director, Academic Quality and Workforce
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
P.O. Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
512.427.6214
jessica.acton@thecb.state.tx.us

State Website http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/index.cfm?ObjectID=4494F260-E342-2613-4D0A7428287BF99A

U.S. Virgin Islands

Camille McKayle

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 

University of the Virgin Islands 

#2 John Brewers Bay

St. Thomas, USVI  00802

340.693.1200

cmckayl@uvi.edu

Utah

Cynthia "Cyd" Grua
Office of the Commissioner for Higher Education
Utah System of Higher Education
Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah  84111
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu

Vermont

Cassandra Ryan
School Finance Analyst
Vermont Agency of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.479.8545
Cassandra.Ryan@vermont.gov

Virginia

Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804.225.2621
DarleneDerricott@schev.edu

State Website http://www.schev.edu/index/institutional/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreements-%28sara%29

Washington

Tivoli Sharp
Student Achievement Council
PO Box 43430
Olympia, WA 98504-3430
360.753.7869
tivolis@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

Mark Stotler
Director of Academic Programming
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
304.558.0262
mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu 

State Website http://www.wvhepc.edu/inside-the-commission/special-initiatives/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara/

Wisconsin

Dr. Morna Foy
President, Wisconsin Technical College System and
Chair, Wisconsin Distance Learning Authorization Board
4622 University Avenue - PO  Box 7874
Madison, WI 53707-7874
608.267.9514
nancy.merrill@wtcsystem.edu

Wyoming

Larry Buchholtz
Fiscal Operations Team Manager
State of Wyoming
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7068

larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov