SARA Steering Committees

SARA Steering Committee Members by Region

MHEC (M-SARA)

Gretchen Bartelson 

Dean, Center for Teaching and Learning  

Northwest Iowa Community College

603 West Park Street

Sheldon, IA 51201

712.324.5061 ext. 170

gbartelson@nwicc.edu
 

Stephanie Davidson 

Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Ohio Department of Higher Education

25 South Front Street

Columbus, OH 43215

614.728.1904

sdavidson@highered.ohio.gov
 

Kathleen  Fimple

Academic Programs Officer

Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

P.O. Box 95005

Lincoln, NE 68509-5005

402.471.0030

kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov
 

Chris  Foley

Senior Associate, Proprietary School Certification 

Indiana University

Poplars 631, 400 East 7th Street

Bloomington, IN 47405

812.855.2953
cfoley@iu.edu


Morna Foy 

President

Wisconsin Technical College System

4622 University Avenue

Madison, WI 53705

608.267.9066

morna.foy@wtcsystem.edu
 

Shellie Haut 

Executive Director, Licensure, Regulatory Services and Human Capital

Central Michigan University

802 Industrial Drive

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858

989.774.1308

hautr1sl@cmish.edu
 

Robin Hemenway

Director of Accreditation and Compliance

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

2500 Park Avenue, Campus Box #28

Minneapolis, MN 55404-4403

612.238.4542

rhemenwa@smumn.edu
 

Sue Huppert

Chief of External and Governmental Affairs

Des Moines University

3200 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50312

515.271.1384

susan.huppert@dmu.edu

 

Mary Kochlefl

Administrative Director for the Center for Teaching Excellence

Xavier University

3800 Victory Parkway

Cincinnati, OH 45207-1110

513.745.4279

kochlefl@xavier.edu

 

Mike Michaelis 

Assistant Director, Virtual College

Fort Hays State University

600 Park Street

Wichita, KS 67601-4099

785.628.5545

mwmichaelis@fhsu.edu

 

Nkechi Onwuameze

Assistant Director for Academic Affairs

Illinois Board of Higher Education

1 North Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333

Springfield, IL 62701-1377

217.557.7382

Onwuameze@ibhe.org

 

Jerry Rostad

Assistant CIO for Academic Services and Special Projects

North Dakota University System

2000 44th Street South, Suite 301

Fargo, ND 58103

701.239.6668

jerry.rostad@ndus.edu

 

Ken Sauer 

Senior Associate Commissioner and Chief Academic Officer

Indiana Commission for Higher Education

101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550

Indianapolis IN 46204-1984

317.232.1090

ksauer@che.in.gov

 

Betsy Talbot

Manager

Institutional Licensing and Registration

Minnesota Office of Higher Education

1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350

Saint Paul, MN 55108

651.259.3965

Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

 

Laura Vendenhaupt

Senior Associate, Proprietary School Certification

Missouri Department of Higher Education

P.O. Box 1469

Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469

573.751.2361

Laura.Vendenhaupt@dhe.mo.gov

 

NEBHE (N-SARA)

Carol Anderson

Vice President

New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

3 Burlington Woods Drive

Burlington, MA 01803

781.425.7713

canderson@neasc.org

 

Yvette Clark

Senior Vice President and General Counsel

Southern New Hampshire University

2500 North River Road

Manchester, NH 03106

603.645.9623

y.clark@snhu.edu

 

William Clements

Vice President and Dean

College of Graduate and Continuing Studies

Norwich University

158 Harmon Drive

Northfield, VT 05663

802.485.2368

bclements@norwich.edu

 

Glen Cummings

President

University Of Southern Maine

35 Bedford Street

Portland, ME 04101

207.780.4480

glennc@maine.edu

 

Owen Donovan

Supervisor, Higher Education Programs

New York State Department of Higher Education

518.474.1551

owen.donovan@nysed.gov

 

Jane McBride Gates

Provost and SVP for Academic and Student Affairs

Connecticut State Colleges and Universities 

 860.723.0058 

gatesj@ct.edu 

 

Ed Klonoski (Chair)

President

Charter Oak State College

55 Paul Manafort Drive

New Britain, CT 06053

860.515.3888

eklonoski@charteroak.edu

 

Angel Loredo (Vice-Chair)

Higher Education Specialist

Maine Department of Education

23 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

207.624.6846

Angel.Loredo@maine.gov

 

Karyl Martin

Assistant General Counsel

University System of New Hampshire

5 Chenell Drive

Concord, NH 03301

603.862.0961

karyl.martin@usnh.edu

 

Patricia Plummer

Senior Advisor - Academic Affairs

Student Affairs and International Relations

University Of Massachusetts

One Beacon Street, 31st Floor

Boston, MA 02108

781.248.3494

pplummer@umassp.edu

 

Eric Sakai

Dean of Academic Technology

Community College of Vermont

660 Elm Street

Montpelier, VT 05601

802.828.0133

Eric.Sakai@ccv.edu

 

Jamie Scurry

Dean of Continuing Studies

Roger Williams University

1 Old Ferry Road

Bristol, RI 02809

401.254.4844

jscurry@rwu.edu

 

Eric Taylor

Director, Office of Licensure

New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

609.984.3738

eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

 

Ex-Officio

Michael Thomas, President/CEO, New England Board of Higher Education

 

SREB

Daniel Archer

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

655 Research Parkway, Suite 200

P.O. Box 108850

Oklahoma City, OK 73101

405.225.9142

darcher@osrhe.edu

 

Clay Barton

Licensing Program Coordinator, Postsecondary Institution Licensing, Academic Affairs

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300

Columbia, SC 29201

803.737.7781

cbarton@che.sc.gov

 

Alana Boles (Chair 10/2016 - 10/2018)

Program Director of Private Career and Out-of-State Education

Arkansas Department of Higher Education

423 Main Street, Suite 400

Little Rock, AR 72201

501.371.2060

alana.boles@adhe.edu

 

Morgan Champion

Director

Postsecondary Reciprocal Distance Education

Commission for Independent Education

325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1414

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400

850.245.3212

morgan.champion@fldoe.org

 

Darlene Derricott

Director of Academic Services

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor

Richmond, VA 23219

804.225.2621

darlenederricott@schev.edu

 

LeAnn Detillier

Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration

Louisiana Board of Regents

1201 North Third Street, Suite 6-200

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

225.342.4253

leann.detillier@la.gov

 

 

SREB (S-SARA) Cont.

Menia Dykes

Director of Accreditation

Office of Academic and Student Affairs

Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

3825 Ridgewood Road

Jackson, MS 39211

601.432.6372

mdykes@mississippi.edu
 

Cristi D. Ford (10/2016-10/2018)

Associate Vice President, Center for Innovation in Learning and Student Success

University of Maryland University College

3501 University Boulevard East

Adelphi, MD 20783

240.684.2434

cristi.ford@umuc.edu

 

Robert Igo (10/2016-10/2018)

Director of Compliance and Reporting

Penn State Outreach and Online Education

The 329 Building, Suite 218

University Park, PA 16802

814.865.2992

rli2@psu.edu

 

Robert Keown (10/2017-10/2020)

Executive Director

Georgia Virtual Technical Connection

Technical College System of Georgia

1800 Century Place Northeast, Suite 400

Atlanta, GA 30345

404.679.1667

rkeown@tcsg.edu


Michael J. Kiphart
Director of Academic Affairs
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410.332.0270
michael.kiphart@maryland.gov
 

Patricia Landis

Division Chief

Pennsylvania Department of Education

Division of Higher and Career Education

333 Market Street 

Harrisburg, PA 17126

717.783.8228

plandis@pa.gov

 

Angela Lee

Executive Director

Higher Education Licensure Commission

Postsecondary Education

Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Government of the District of Columbia

810 First Street Northeast, 2nd Floor

Washington, D.C. 20002

202.724.2095

angela.lee@dc.gov

 

Sarah Levy

Director of Postsecondary Licensing

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320

Frankfort, KY 40601

502.892.3034

sarah.levy@ky.gov

 

Camille McKayle

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

University of the Virgin Islands

No. 2 John Brewers Bay

St. Thomas, VI 00801

304.693.1200

cmckal@uvi.edu
 

Shana Payne

Director, Higher Education Office

Delaware Department of Higher Education

The Townsend Building

401 Federal Street, Suite 2

Dover, DE 19901

302.735.4120

shana.payne@doe.k12.de.us

 

Rex C Peebles

Assistant Commissioner

Academic Quality and Workforce

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

P. O. Box 12788

Austin, TX 78711

512.427.6520

rex.peebles@thecb.state.tx.us

 

Robert Reed (10/2016-10/2018)

Associate Director, UCF Online

Center for Distributed Learning

University of Central Florida

4000 Central Florida Boulevard

Orlando, FL 32816

407.823.4915

robert.reed@ucf.edu

 

Corinna M. Robinson

Executive Director

Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary

Education Commission

2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220

Tucker, GA 30084

770.414.3300

crobinson@gnpec.org

 

Terrence R. Scarborough

Director of SARA-NC

UNC-General Administration

North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

P.O. Box 14103

Research Triangle Park, NC 27709  

919.248.4660  

terrence@saranc.org

 

Mark Stotler

Director of Academic Programming

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education

1018 Kanawha Boulevard East, Suite 700

Charleston, WV 25301

304.558.0262

mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu

 

Tim Vick

Director of Operations and Fiscal Services

Alabama Commission on Higher Education

P.O. Box 302000

Montgomery, AL 36130

334.353.9153

tim.vick@ache.alabama.gov

 

Julie Woodruff (Vice Chair 6/2016-10/2018)

Assistant Executive Director of Postsecondary School Authorization and Lead Attorney

Tennessee Higher Education Commission

404 James Robertson Parkway

Parkway Towers, Suite 1900

Nashville, TN 37243

615.253.8857

julie.woodruff@tn.gov

 

Jeannie Yockey-Fine (10/2014-10/2020)

Senior Advisor, State Regulatory Services

Cooley, LLP

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest, Suite 700

Washington, DC 20004

202.776.2972

jyockeyfine@cooley.com

 

WICHE (W-SARA)

Larry Buchholtz

Fiscal Operations Team Manager

State of Wyoming

Wyoming Community College Commission

2300 Capitol Avenue, 5th Floor, Suite B

Cheyenne, WY 82002

307.777.7068

larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov


Allison Combs
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
       and Director of Public Policy
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.4901 x3442
allison_combs@nshe.nevada.edu
 

Heather DeLange

Academic Policy Officer

Colorado Department of Higher Education

1600 Broadway, Suite 2200

Denver, CO 80202

303.862.3005

heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

 

Lanna Dueck

Executive Director 
Arizona SARA Council

2323 West 14th Street

Tempe, AZ 85281

480.517.8226

lanna.dueck@riosalado.edu


Veronica Dujon

Director of Academic Planning and Policy

Higher Education Coordinating Commission

255 Court Street NE

Salem, OR 97301

503.947.5744

veronica.dujon@state.or.us


Valerie "Val" Fenske
Private Postsecondary and Proprietary School Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
650 West State Street, Suite# 307
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
Valerie.Fenske@osbe.idaho.gov


Cynthia "Cyd" Grua
Utah System of Higher Education
60 South 400 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu

 

Katie Hubbart

Academic Affairs Specialist

South Dakota SARA Coordinator

South Dakota Board of Regents

306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200

Pierre, SD 57501

605.773.3455

Katie.Boehnke@sdbor.edu

 

Kierke Kussart

Program Coordinator, Institutional Authorization

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

P.O. Box 110505

Juneau, AK 99811-0505

907.465.6741

kierke.kussart@alaska.gov


Sam Loftin
Associate Director of Consumer Protection
Washington Student Achievement Council
917 Lakeridge Way Southwest
Olympia, WA 98502
360.753.7866
saml@wsac.wa.gov

 

Bobbi Lum-Mew

Program Administrator

Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

P.O. Box 541

Honolulu, HI 96809

808.586.7327

hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

 

Jeneva LiRosi

General Counsel

New Mexico Higher Education Department

2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4

Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100

505.476.8402

Jeneva.LiRosi@state.nm.us

 

Joseph "Joe" Thiel

Director of Academic Policy and Research

Montana University System

P.O. Box 203201

Helena, MT 59620

406.449.9135

jthiel@montana.edu