Eligibility for Membership

States of the United States of America, the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories may join SARA as “member states*.” A state’s decision to seek membership in SARA is voluntary.

  • The state, territory or district must be a member of one of the four interstate regional compacts that administer SARA** or must have concluded an affiliation agreement with such a compact covering SARA activity.
  • The state agency or entity responsible for joining SARA must have the legal authority under state law to enter into an interstate agreement that covers all of the elements of SARA.

*Throughout, for SARA purposes the term “State” or “States” includes the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories.

** Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) and Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

Detailed information about states and their membership in SARA is in the SARA Policy Manual, Section 2.